PDA

View Full Version : Baiting for ungulates, legal in B.C.?

Call of the Wild
04-26-2010, 01:53 PM
I don’t want to start an argument in regard of baiting. I’m studying the BC regulation and I would appreciate clarification in regards of baiting for ungulates in B.C.

From my understanding it is legal to bait in B.C. for certain species (Ex. Deer). Personally I mean/define baiting as food plots, cereals and mineral station. As well if a bear would be present at a bait, it would be illegal to harvest the bear.

The only information in regards of baiting I can find (bellow), prevent (cougar, coyote, wolf and bear) any kind of baiting.

1)B.C. regulation defines bait as: Means anything, including meat, cereals, cultivated crops, restrained animal or any manufactured product or material that may attract wildlife and includes plastic or other imitation foods, but does not include a decoy as described under these regulations.
2)As well from the 2009-2010 hunting regulations on P.14, #16 it’s unlawful to intentionally feed or attempt to feed dangerous wildlife (cougar, coyote, wolf and bear) except when lawfully engaged in hunting or trapping where baiting is authorized.

Call of the Wild

KB90
04-26-2010, 01:55 PM
Hey,

The only thing you cannot bait in BC is bears.

Cheers Kyle

Pioneerman
04-26-2010, 02:54 PM
Hey,

The only thing you cannot bait in BC is bears.

Cheers Kyle

You can not bait for cougars , or wolves either unless I read it wrong rule # 16 it is unlawful to:To intentionally feed or attempt to feed dangerous wildlife (cougar,Coyote,Wolf and Bear) except when lawfully engaged in hunting or trapping where baiting is authorized.

So this means unless you have special permission no it is not legal to bait these dangerous or predatory animals (page 14 last years regs)

Confused
04-26-2010, 03:13 PM
It is illegal to bait bears and migratory bame birds, and that is it. you can bait everything else.........end of thread.:-D

Pioneerman
04-26-2010, 03:26 PM