PDA

View Full Version : How hungry are the spring blackies?

rollingrock
03-23-2006, 11:32 AM
looks like they still don't have fixed diet after they walked out of their dens. :lol: my buddy warned me not to get too close to them as they're pretty hungry right now.

PGKris
03-23-2006, 11:37 AM
You have bears? We still have three feet of snow!

rollingrock
03-23-2006, 12:08 PM
yes, I have bears walking now. :)

mark
03-23-2006, 12:08 PM
BS, all a bear can eat is greens when they come out of a den! they havnt gone number 2 for a few months and they need the veggies to get the plumbing flowing. they are also pretty slow and grogy at first. id worry more in the fall when a bear is looking for a huge meat feast to fatten up for hibbernation. ( im not an expert but thats my understanding and observations)

Gus
03-23-2006, 12:14 PM
for sure Mark, their system cant handle a whole lot when they first come out and need some greens. A bear in the late fall however knows he's going down and needs all the fat reserves he can get, there for will be wanting to eat anything he can get.

rollingrock
03-23-2006, 12:34 PM
:lol: :lol: ahhh, but one my buddy saw was running pretty fast though. I only saw him moving his ass slowly while digging for food.

willyqbc
03-23-2006, 12:35 PM