PDA

View Full Version : Frustrating...

rollingrock
03-28-2010, 05:46 PM
Lately I've had some problems with my recurve shooting. The arrows keep falling off the rest when I draw. That rarely happened before. Don't know why. I've tried different finger techniques, but so far none works well. This problem really affects my drawing. Any tips?

Clint_S
03-28-2010, 05:52 PM
Take a closed grip at the start of your draw and relax it as you draw. This will hopefully keep the arrow on the shelf.

RJ
03-28-2010, 05:53 PM
Twisting the bowstring on the draw?

willyqbc
03-28-2010, 05:55 PM
I am far from a recurve expert, but what we teach the kids in our junior program who often have this problem is to set their fingers on the string much deeper than the final hook-up spot will be. Then before you draw you roll the string along your fingers until you get to where you normally have your fingers set for draw. This should twist the string in toward the riser and as long as your nocks arent really loose the twisting of the string inwards toward the riser should push the arrow snug into the rest.

Hope this helps
Chris

rollingrock
03-28-2010, 06:00 PM
Twisting the bowstring on the draw?

I think that's the problem. I try my best to draw straight back, but sometimes that doesn't work either.

rollingrock
03-28-2010, 06:04 PM
I am far from a recurve expert, but what we teach the kids in our junior program who often have this problem is to set their fingers on the string much deeper than the final hook-up spot will be. Then before you draw you roll the string along your fingers until you get to where you normally have your fingers set for draw. This should twist the string in toward the riser and as long as your nocks arent really loose the twisting of the string inwards toward the riser should push the arrow snug into the rest.

Hope this helps
Chris