PDA

View Full Version : burke pinecone provincial park

fuzzy
03-26-2010, 12:10 PM
hello

im new to hunting and live in the lowermainland. time being short and not having a quad has made me think that i should be investing some time in exploring pinecome park. i would far rather hike in or canoe and spend a night or 2 somewhere than drive for hours on end just to come home again and spend a couple hundred on fuel. im in my mid 20s and did a fair bit of backpacking with my dad in my teens i just need to get back in better shape. the time spent will be enjoyed regardless of harvesting an animal or not. can anyone point me in the right direction to minimize wasted time.

thanks
fuzzy

ghost
03-26-2010, 04:02 PM
There are animals on Burke.Keep in mind that you have to be beyond Dennett lake to hunt.The bush is very thick.I will try my luck again this season.I have only seen the odd deer track,more bear sign.Lots of wild blueberrys.

fuzzy
03-26-2010, 04:18 PM
so my best bet would probably be to canoe up widgeon crk then set off from there? i am having difficulty finding decent maps of the area on line. would one of those local visitor info centres have what i am looking for?

thanks
fuzzy

ghost
03-26-2010, 04:48 PM
Canoing up widgeon could be a good option. I have not been up there in quite a long time.One other option would be to go up the quarry road side of Burke and hike for about 2hrs to get to dennett lake and then along burke ridge.I have thought about widgeon lake for hunting but have to make it there.

gamer
03-26-2010, 07:35 PM
There has been a few threads on this park/area. There is definitley animals in there. I have seen bear and deer there lots of times. Access is the issue. Terrain is very steep and rough. I would not try to pack an animal back from Widgeon lake as that hike is very difficult. It is also a very popular place and there are loads of people there at all times of year.

fuzzy
03-31-2010, 09:42 PM