PDA

View Full Version : Peace Country Spring Bear Advice

7mag700
03-25-2010, 04:12 PM
I'm completely new to bear hunting. See 'em pretty regularly of course, but I'm looking for a little information (without, of course, GPS co-ords or honey holes :wink:) to increase my odds for my first spring bear hunt.

I'm told when they wake up, being hungry, they head right for available forage. Places like warm sun-facing riverbanks where the snow melts earliest for green shoots and grass etc. Is this true? What are their other favourite spring foods? Is there any particular terrain I should stick to? Lowlands? Clear cuts? Hillsides? What about swampy areas?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

7m7

moosinaround
03-25-2010, 04:17 PM
Up in your part of the world, DON"T shoot the first one you see!! You will see lots of blackies up there! Any grain fields close by, south facing slopes, creek bottoms where there are fiddle heads. Look for fresh poop, and there usually will be one or more near by!! Good luck, shoot a pumpkin head!! Moosin

moose2
03-25-2010, 05:56 PM
Pipelines are a good bet in the spring, they have some ground heat and melt a bit earlier. They are also quite grassy most of the time. ATV access is usually good on them as well.

gbear
03-25-2010, 06:00 PM
Also check out pipelines. Because of the heat of the pipe underground, you find a nice strip of green grass earlier then most other places. Logging roads that have been grass seeded also green up early. Then of course, if you head for the mountains, the avalanche chutes are great. I usually find that hunting pipelines and older roads early on the flats works well, and then towards the end of May you can start to head for the mountains as the snow melts there. Ususally by then, the lowlands have green grass and leaves out everywhere, so the bears are more spread out.

Bear Chaser
03-25-2010, 06:07 PM