PDA

View Full Version : Goat questions.

springpin
03-07-2010, 12:05 AM
Thinking about putting in for a goat draw this year..Area 4:35 or surrounding area. I shoot .243 and archery. Any tips or tricks you guys can help with? Climbing or scrambling not an issue, as I have extensive experience in mountaineering...Is a .243 to light or what? C'mon goat boys give a guy some pointers...

Springpin

Moose Guide
03-07-2010, 12:12 AM
I would suggest that you use a larger calibre like a .30-06, goats are very tough! If you use a .243, use only primium bullets and wait for the perfect shot! Good luck:-D

EvanG
03-07-2010, 12:12 AM
No question a .243 is adequte for goat just make your shot count as they are tough animals and its nice to drop em where they stand. No experiance in the kootneays tho, good luck

springpin
03-07-2010, 12:15 AM
I thought a .243 would be good enough....but never hunting goat...had to ask....so far 50-50 on .243...any more takers?

springpin
03-07-2010, 12:48 AM
how bout archery goat??? n e 1 get one with a bow or crossbow?...that's right i said a crossbow is archery...

GoatGuy
03-07-2010, 12:53 AM
Practice up and take the bow.

Go in mid October on and you'll find goats in huntable spots.

Get the video and take the tests on goat ID, select a billy and you'll be helping us all.

Good luck.

GoatGuy
03-07-2010, 12:58 AM
Seeing as you're from golden you already know where to go.

Post pics.

springpin
03-07-2010, 12:58 AM
hey goatguy...I've been tossing the idea about goin for goat with my bow...And I probably will..I think that'll be one hell of a way to hunt a goat.

03-07-2010, 02:39 AM
Shoot for the center of the chest, not for the shoulder hump it's all hair, there's 6" of hair on the back line and a lot hanging down under the belly as well. It's real easy to hit them too high or too low, especially late season when they have their winter coat,,,,,which is the only time to go in my opinion,,,,thanksgiving weekend or later for good coats.

J_T