PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

henderson
03-03-2010, 09:11 PM
Im looking for some info any really! Im 22 years old and have decided to get into hunting. Ive got my courses my rifle (303 brit) and now I need advice! Im brand new to this whole thing and want to start this season and my hunting life off on a good note. Thats why im turning to you guys, pros who know the ins and outs of good hunts and bad ones. Im intrested in going for deer and maybe spring bear. I'll leave it to you guys now!

Thanks a lot!!

one-shot-wonder
03-03-2010, 09:31 PM
Welcome to the forum and the hunting fraternity! Spend time reading and searching on here and you'll be educated on a ton of info.

Shoot at a rifle range and practise different shooting positions, become well acquainted with your rifle.

I would start by getting to know some people at your local Fish & game club. Always nice to hear first hand wisdom, maybe even team up for an outting.

Most importantly enjoy your time in the great outdoors!

.330 Dakota
03-03-2010, 09:35 PM
One shot wonder is bang on, meet some people, and practice your shooting, and one more thing--you mentioned bears....shoot some deer first..they dont bite if you have to track down a wounded one.

kgs
03-03-2010, 09:44 PM
I agree with one shot. I would seek out a friend or friend of a friend or relative who has experience and can show you first hand and can answer the million questions your going to have. I believe it would be wise to hunt with someone for the next couple of years for safety reasons alone. I do not know what experience you have but you want to learn how to hunt not get lost or hurt and be unprepared. I have friends who I hunt with that still teach me something new every year. Successful hunts come from hunting with the right type of hunters; ones that take it seriously and have what I call hunting ethics. Good luck and try your local gun range lots of hunters there.

Jelvis
03-03-2010, 09:47 PM