PDA

View Full Version : Deer and hay.

Moose72
01-08-2010, 11:47 AM
Just wondering if deer actually like hay. I got a couple bails of alphalfa and put them up in the back yard for the deer. Haven't seen any action on the hay but more on the brush out there. Just put it out there with the game camera to see what's around. Do they like hay?

Bighorn hunter
01-08-2010, 11:51 AM
I put out a couple bails of alphalfa a month or so ago and before the elk nocked them down the deer seemed to be eating it

Chuck
01-08-2010, 12:04 PM
I've no experience with such, but what I've read, they will benefit from particular types, alfalfa being one, when other favorite fodder is exhausted.

KB90
01-08-2010, 12:05 PM
My uncle has set some small bails in his yard and they pick at it. I would suggest some oats, apples and a mineral lick.

d6dan
01-08-2010, 12:18 PM
They love it. I shot lots of whitetails in alfalfa fields. I remember this one whitetail buck getting his headgear locked up in the wire on a round bail. He must have been there for awhile, because about 1/3 of the bail was all over the ground. Everything worked out for him and he soon left. (alive).

Moose72
01-08-2010, 12:23 PM
I just have muleys here. Guess they aren't much different as to what they eat though. Just hope the moose stay out of it.

d6dan
01-08-2010, 01:32 PM
I just have muleys here. Guess they aren't much different as to what they eat though. Just hope the moose stay out of it.
Mulies like hay too. Shot a 4pt that was working over a bail once. Their no different than whitetails when it comes to hay.

ufishifish2
01-08-2010, 09:52 PM
Huh, only the Elk seem to like them much out here. Your game camera would probably pick up mostly coyotes tagging a corner of the bail instead.

wolverine
01-09-2010, 10:04 PM