PDA

View Full Version : Is a Thunder jet going to be enough boat to get up the Rivers in Northern BC

Jonny outdoors
12-29-2009, 04:40 PM
Hey Guys

I just bought a 19ft TJ with a 175 sport jet I was limited by a budget and time to actually use the boat.I have been hunting up around 101 and fsj for the last seven years and was thinking of trying to incorporated the boat into a elk / moose hunt.Is this boat to light duty of a boat.I also was wondering am i better off to plate the bottom with alum or uhmw? I have been told uhmw runs around $2500 for a 19ft where alum I can get through work at about 3/4 the price,

Your guys input would be greatly appreciated

Dirty
12-29-2009, 04:48 PM
What rivers do you plan on running? I think plating with aluminum is contradictory to your intentions. It will add weight and is still "sticky". The biggest problem with aluminum is that it grabs rocks. UHMW and QT100 plates are the most popular things to put on your bottom. Some guys also use bucket paint.

Jonny outdoors
12-29-2009, 05:37 PM
The area we have start researching is muskwa river.

mxracer328
12-29-2009, 06:13 PM
X2 on the uhmw, maybe pricey but is well worth it, you ll slide alot easier over gravel bars and shallow water, and any logs that you want to jump. not to mention that when stuck its 100 times easier

Rock Doctor
12-29-2009, 06:17 PM
I see the odd one up here, so you can rest assured that they can do it.
On the other hand, I know a guy that bought one last fall, he has it for sale already and says he wants to get something else. Don't know all the details, just spoke to him briefly.

srupp
12-29-2009, 06:48 PM
I am not an expert on the Muskwa per sey..however from last years trip up and down the Muskwa BE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT THE HECK you are doing..owning a jet boat no more makes you a competent boater for any river.. no more than owning a piano makes you a pianist..:wink: