PDA

View Full Version : New to Tail Cameras have some?

Adanac00
12-20-2009, 04:08 PM
Hello all

As you can see i am new to the site. but i have been reading and watching for Months!

see my Joke in newbies fourms!

I am new to Trail Cameras and have never hunted befor! I will be Getting my CORE in the new year as soon as i can get around my work Hrs to figure out a time!

I have gotten and am Getting some Bushnell 4.0 trail cameras for xmas and i was just wondering if it is worth while setting them out over the winter on some of the back property of the Family Ranch in Reg 8-26?

I will be going up there this week and will have to do some scouting to see if there are many Deer Trails, there are lots of damn Coyotes in the area so i am sure i can find somthing to catch on Camera!

Should i Bait for my Cameras like Alfalfa or meat for the Coyotes??

as you can see i really dont know what i am doing so could use some Tips!

Thank you for your time!

Adanac00

BlacktailStalker
12-20-2009, 04:11 PM
Welcome to HBC Canada00.
Yeah bait is a great way to get lots of action on the camera, i would for sure put them out over the winter, just be careful not to have tracks in snow coming and going to where you set up in case somebody gets curious, follows them and finds your camera.

Adanac00
12-20-2009, 04:15 PM
BTS thats Great Advice!
This is Private Property Backed on by two other Owners and i know both of them So i am not TO TO concerend but you never know!

Adanac00

OutWest
12-20-2009, 04:37 PM
I would definitely put them up over winter and see what is hanging around the area. We keep ours out about 9 months of the year and you definitely see some changes in how the animals pattern themselves. Your cameras should be fine on private property. I've never locked mine up and haven't ever had a problem thankfully.

This is off the top of my head so someone correct me if I'm wrong but is it not illegal to bait wildlife in BC, whether you're hunting them or not?

Adanac00