PDA

View Full Version : east or west harrison?

r106
12-09-2009, 06:51 PM
I got a day or two off work and I'm thinking of chasing some blacktails. I've never hunted anywere around the lower mainland and have heard alot about harrision. If I go there is one side better than the other or is it the same sh-t different pile. I have also done a lot of dirt biking up by tamahi and chipmunck in chilliwack and up in the nicklemine area in hope. This is my first year hunting so I never looked for "sign" in the past. But in the 8 years or so I've been riding there I have never seen a deer. Are they woth checking out? I'm still lokking for my first deer and I'm not givin up until dec 15 LOL

Thanks

duckhunt
12-09-2009, 07:10 PM
east harrison is were i have seen the most deer.

Steeleco
12-09-2009, 07:49 PM
East side!! Try getting east of what used to be the Bear creek rec site. There's a series of roads that will take you into a fairly big valley. Not been in there for a few years, but there are critters around there somewhere.

r106
12-09-2009, 08:37 PM
cool, thanks guys east of harrison it is. anyone been up there recently how are the roads? I plan on taking my truck as far as i can then walking. is the access good there?

12-10-2009, 01:47 AM
stick to the area around the lake

ElectricDyck
12-10-2009, 05:50 AM
The main roads are usually in good condition because of the logging.

gamer
12-11-2009, 03:15 PM
Just got back from Harrison east. Heavy logging pressure and busy roads. Counted three does and five or six grouse. Every road we travelled turned to a sheet of two inch thick ice as you get higher. Road thru to Boston Bar is not passable due to such ice just after the turn onto Shovel Creek Rd. Loads of sign in the bush, but , very difficult to hike thru the thick shit quietly.

Maverick7
12-11-2009, 03:18 PM
get a bow or xbow and check out texada. youll get your first second and third.

Kudu
12-11-2009, 03:26 PM