PDA

View Full Version : lack of big bucks little fort area

kamkid49
12-03-2009, 05:45 PM
i have been hunting the little fort area for over 25 years and have taken some nice bucks in that time (180 class plus) i have not seen a worse year than this year tho. we had a heavy yearling die off last year but that dosn't explain the lack of 4 points and over. anyone else notice this? i hope the biologists take notice!

Jelvis
12-03-2009, 05:52 PM
Maybe everyone else over that twenty five years have taken nice bucks too and your saying a yearling die out, who told you that ? A bio or coffee shop?
How many times did you actually get out in the Little Fart region ?
Jelly-Little Fart-Mu 3-39 ?

kamkid49
12-03-2009, 06:07 PM
allmost everyday all month (and still tryin)

Prowler
12-03-2009, 06:17 PM
Jelvis, go crawl back under your rock!!
I talked to the CO there a few days ago and he did say the die off last year was significant, and not just yearlings. Overworked bucks took a heavy hit as well. I noticed the same thing, not very many bigger bucks. I just got back from hunting 5 1/2 days HARD !!!

GoatGuy
12-03-2009, 06:20 PM
It isn't just the yearlings that die. Depending on the severity the old bucks as well because they're so worn out after the rut.

In theory that's who mother nature kills, the young and the old.

Give it a couple years, they'll bounce back. Lots of habitat from that fire.

kamkid49
12-03-2009, 06:42 PM
thanks prowler wished id'e see the co more when in the bush...... hope your right goatguy its my happy place here for sure! ya and whats jelvis problem?

KB90
12-03-2009, 06:44 PM
whats jelvis problem?

haha nothing, after awhile you will get to know him, his posts can come off as a bit loopy, but he seems to be a nice guy :)

horshur
12-03-2009, 06:48 PM
there is a lack of yearlings this year because of last winter however most does had twins trailing along this fall.

dana
12-03-2009, 06:58 PM