PDA

View Full Version : Advise on Crossbows

striperjack
12-03-2009, 09:33 AM
I am new to the archery end of hunting. Time to try something new.

Any advise on what to look for in A crossbow?

I know i need 150lb min for hunting

THanks in advance

Bow Walker
12-03-2009, 09:44 AM
It's hard to find a cross bow that is less than 150 lbs these days, so you're good there. I'd recommend a 'package' deal from whomever you go with. Some of the better ones (and in no particular order) are Excalibur, Horton, Barnett, etc.

There are those who prefer a recurve design over a compound design - reasoning that simplicity is best. It really doesn't make any difference as long as you take the time and initiative to maintain your equipment. Either one will do just fine.

Although you may find that the recurve limb crossbows are a bit less expensive than the compound ones - I'm not sure on that point. If you can, try them in the store. Try pulling back on the string a bit to get an idea of the strength it requires to cock the bow.

It wouldn't do to get a 275 lb bow and have al sorts of trouboe trying to cock the thing. Something in less poundage will do the job just fine and be a whole lot easier (and fun) to shoot. Drop in to Island Outlaws and have a look at what they have. Then make the trek up to Nanaimo and check out Wholesale Sports.

Good luck in your new venture.

brotherjack
12-03-2009, 10:29 AM
Buy an Excalibur and don't look back. I've owned several different brands/types of x-bows over the years, and the Excalibur is easily the highest quality/most reliable/most accurate piece I've owned. And, it's made in Canada too; how can you beat that?

:)

Bow Walker
12-03-2009, 10:33 AM
Here's two Canadian manufacturers to have a look at. I know of a guy who bought from Canadian Crossbows and is very happy with the product.

http://www.excaliburcrossbow.com/

http://www.canadacrossbow.com

rocksteady
12-03-2009, 11:05 AM
2 words of advice from me: