PDA

View Full Version : Pg Tako?

lightmag
12-01-2009, 01:15 PM
what was your expirence with the blackwater /Tako area this november for deer?

I found the deer to be in specific areas/pockets and not a lot of movement? saw an average 3x3, and a few does. Hunted reasonably hard, lots of miles on the legs thru cuts, tree lines and fir ridges, didn't even jump one from it's bed? the snow was loud this year for the most part so 'sneaking' was extremely hard, but even so between all the walking and quadding i feel i should have had more deer, specifically buck encounters.

I'm no expert on big mulie's, but i'm no rookie either. Also found that with the evening/night snow fall morning activity became almost non existant, with all sightings and movement being mostly in the afternoon.

Any thoughts, expirences or theory's are welcome, basically i'm at at a loss for ideas on what these deer do!!

lightmag.

jml11
12-01-2009, 01:19 PM
I didn't see a speck of deer this past weekend, not even any fresh sign and very little recent sign for that matter. These areas are typically realtively abundant in both mulies and whitetails but they were apparently not around this year...so it wasn't just specific to the Tako!

lightmag
12-01-2009, 01:24 PM
I didn't see a speck of deer this past weekend, not even any fresh sign and very little recent sign for that matter. These areas are typically realtively abundant in both mulies and whitetails but they were apparently not around this year...so it wasn't just specific to the Tako!

I hear you, i hit the west lake area a few times too, nothing, zero for sign, old or new???

where did they go? the numbers seem way down to me.

End of Woodpecker (off the mt mack) is way down too, they usually winter there too and hardly anything has moved in as of Nov 20th??

tinhorse
12-01-2009, 01:39 PM
did you try down the high profit off the tako? We have always seen deer down there.

thetackdriver
12-01-2009, 01:44 PM