PDA

View Full Version : Ode to the novice hunter - a true Doe story

ChrisM
11-16-2009, 12:44 AM
WARNING: Lots of words ahead. If you want pics they're at the bottom.

Last weekend was the first time I'd ever gone out deer hunting. Sure, i went on an overnight trip once last year in Boston Bar, but it was rushed and my friend and I were entirely unprepared for a hunt so I count that as camping with guns. All we got from that trip was scope bite and a speeding ticket.

Hardly one for the books.

This time though - it was different. As a new hunter, my friend and I were able to apply for doe tags in 8-9 at 1.4:1 odds - After what seemed like forever we found out we both made the cut!

Now, as a beginner, i thought it necessary to ensure that I had two boxes of ammo for my second hand Parker Hale 30-06, enough slugs to take out a bear sanctuary (because of COURSE i'd be carrying by shotgun on my shoulder and my rifle in hand because when you're alone in the woods there MUST be bears everywhere). I also made sure that I had head-to-toe camo so that I would trick the deer into thinking I was part of the scenary.

As those of you who are laughing at me know, I too now realize that:

A) No amount of camo will make you a better hunter
B) Of the 40 rounds that I had, it only took one to get my deer
C) The shotgun stayed in the case the whole trip.

However, that Saturday morning (Nov 7th), after a night of wine, beer, and excellent pasta from our hunting partner who once had his own restaurant, we set out in the hills behind Skaha Lake to find our quarry @ 6am.

After unloading the ATV's we paired up (there were 4 of us), and set on our way.

Not more than 20 minutes into the day I heard over the walkie-talkie "Chris, I got one!" My novice hunting partner nailed the first LEH Doe of the day! Thrilled that we had meat to take home, my excitement turned to anxiety about whether I would have the same good fortune.