PDA

View Full Version : Finding the "Secret Spot"

Livinlarge
10-29-2009, 12:58 PM
Here goes my first post!

I'm in my second year of hunting and managed to bag my first Mulie last week. What an experience! I'm very much a newbie but I am acting like a sponge trying to absorb as much info as possible.

In trying to find spots to hunt I've taken advice from co-workers, friends and basically anyone that is will to talk about hunting to me. I have received great advice but would like some more so I thought I'd throw out these questions to everyone on this site. My questions are directed towards Mule deer right now but am looking forward to a Moose and possible Elk hunt next season.

1. When looking for areas to hunt what are some key things to look for (terrain, weather, time of year etc.)?

2. What resources do you use (google earth, maps)?

3. How do guys get these "secret spots" that seem to be consistently productive but wouldn't tell a soul even on their deathbed?

4. What is your secret spot? You can PM me the GPS coordinates :wink: (only if it was that easy!)

Thanks guys!

P.S. Looking to go get a 4 pt out of region 5 this November. I am on holidays the whole month and any of advice when to time the rut and where to go would be appreciated, but not expected.

cainer
10-29-2009, 01:11 PM
Unfortunately, there is a rut closure from the 11th to the 21st in region 5. (Arguably the best time for the rut) that'll put a bit of damper on some peoples hunting plans.

I usually check out google earth like you suggested-then drive out to the middle of nowhere-as far from people as i can get-and get into a cut block before first light. sometimes it works-other times not.
I find deer rarely hang out in the center of the cut blocks, more often just inside the treelines-usually find a game trail running around the cut block about 10-20 feet inside the treeline-good binos will go along way.
and i always re-attend the spots where I've previously taken an animal.
good luck!