PDA

View Full Version : How long to hang Moose????

dunbartr
10-27-2009, 09:36 PM
We have 8 quarters hanging from two cow moose that a group of us got on October 17th. We hung them overnight, and came home Sunday. These were young animals and probably could have been processed right away, but we were all bagged from the trip and no one seemed that keen to do it in the evenings. We mutally agreed that we were all free to team up and process on the 30th, which is longer than I normally hang any game, but didn't see the harm.....

I have been hanging and cutting my own meat for the last 10 years or so now. A friend of ours built a shop with a a cooler unit at his house. So far all has gone well. I checked on the meat today again (10 days) and it had a bit of an odour, and one quarter seemed to be getting a bit of white fuzz on the outside only.

I have seen this white fuzz on a few of our deer before, but it cuts off easily, and never seems to have affected the meat. It was still cold in there, and the fan was working, the meat seems to have set-up nicely and all is ok, but there shouldn't be much odour from two cow moose??? not like when you hang a rut buck that just has that "meat smell"

In hind sight, we should have done it all up this past Sunday. Now we all work this week and can't do it until Friday. Will it be Ok until then???? Or should I try to round the boys up and start Wednesday night. Would hate to lose that much meat!!!!

3kills
10-27-2009, 09:42 PM