PDA

View Full Version : Burning cedar in a wall tent... bad idea

Marc
10-23-2009, 07:33 PM
I'm fairly new to having a wall tent and wood stove to boot. Well over the thanks giving weekend I decided to put it to the test. We spent 6 nights up in the mountains on the island and the temp droped to about zero in the night time. The tent was cozy but on the last day for some reason the smoke was coming through the pipes at the seams and it took me a while to figure out why. At first I thought that the pipe must have expanded and shrunk causing space for the smoke to come in but upon inspection of the rain guard it became quite clear what happened. The oil from the cedar and th ash had totaly covered the chicken wire. Crystalized and totaly blocked off the half inch square holes in the pipe.:shock: You can also see where the oil from the cedar ran down the stove pipe as well. I'm going to have to get the power sprayer out and do all the pipe work as the last thing I want is a fire in the stove pipe.

And before anyone asks I didn't bring the ladder:|. Not sure why someoene would bring a ladder to the forest but it's there now.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/chiminey_set_up.jpg

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/blocked_rain_guard.jpg

tomahawk
10-23-2009, 07:44 PM
I guess a rain cap is a "nice to have" (although it caused a problem for you I've never experienced in over 20 yrs of use) but I've never used one and no problems with many weeks use of exposed pipe in pouring rain.

K-1
10-23-2009, 07:48 PM
By the way your pikes look you have them put together backwards. That's why the creosote is running out the seam . Get rid of the top cap, because your fire isn't hot enough to burn the tar off.

Marc
10-23-2009, 08:01 PM