PDA

View Full Version : Moose LEH for 3-44

busterboy05
10-12-2009, 10:17 PM
This is my first year with a draw for this area. It starts Nov 1 for bulls. I heard last year that the moose were pretty rare in the area as I spoke to several hunters that were camping in the area for 2 weeks and didn't even see a thing. Went home without their bulls. I don't want to have that kind of sucess when I go. Has any body been in the area working and seen anything? How is the wolf population in 3-44 as I would like to thin out a pack if I get the change. Plus a nice wall mount would be awesome!!!
Where would be the best place to go for moose?

Any suggestions would be appreciated

SUAFOYT
10-13-2009, 04:45 PM
The local CO was up at the Manteau on a shared hunt with his son and they scored 2. Get your maps out, have a look and make a plan. Above all, be prepared for any weather including the potential for lots of snow.

Stone Sheep Steve
10-14-2009, 04:03 AM
My Dad has the same draw. He put in without me knowing ...as he used to work up Manteau a number of yrs ago. No holidays for me then so he's on his own. Might get some help from firends that live in Valemont

Nov moose hunting can be tough.
I've heard that no one is working up there now so the roads, most likely, won't be plowed.

Good luck!

SSS

Patman
10-14-2009, 12:38 PM
I've got a cow/calf draw for the same area (Nov1-10), and am wondering the same thing....

10-14-2009, 03:54 PM
cow calf way easier then the Nov. Bull draw, you should find something but as SSS said Nov. Bulls can be tough, wait as late as you can and use sleds.

Road show in there, every one from Valemont and Clearwater ... you'll see.

they all take 1000 feet of cable and a winch, you'll see why that too.

CT

busterboy05
10-14-2009, 07:40 PM
Why is it that when someone mentions 3-44 everybody assumes that they are talking about the North Thompson FSR??