PDA

View Full Version : mule deer help

theglenbear
10-11-2009, 05:20 PM
Hey guys I have been a long lime looker on the site but have never posted. untill today. I need some info. I have been hunting for 5 years.
I mostly hunt moose but due to work I have had to miss out on the annual 2 week trip. So I have started to put some time in and concentrate on mule deer, since I can easily go after them on my days off. I have managed to get 3 bucks in the last 5 years but only by complete fluke while I was driving around in the truck looking for ditch chickens. Now that I’m actually putting time in I have realized I know absolutely nothing about hunting deer. The few cut blocks I have been hunting I will get into before light and glass form the top just in the tree line. I have seen deer sign fresh droppings and tracks, but so far I have only managed to see only a few dows. I have sat and watched them hoping a buck would maybe be in the aria but no such luck. What should I do? Can they be called to? Should I find another aria? What do you look for in a good aria? Any info would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks Glen

Ltbullken
10-12-2009, 05:08 AM
I say keep doing what you're doing. One piece of advice - focus on prime mule deer habitat. Mule bucks like big, open rocky, rough terrain where they can see long distances. In the early season, little bucks wonder around and are usually more easy pickings. If you want big guys, focus on the habitat preferences. Old open burns, 10yrs + with varied terrain and varied cover is what I look for with mule deer. As we get closer to the rut, look for does, the bucks won 't be too far away.

It helps to go back and list off in your mind where you've seen the most deer - that may a clue to habitat. Good luck - although it sounds like you're doing okay in the luck department!

CanuckShooter
10-12-2009, 09:44 AM