PDA

View Full Version : Field Dressing/meat Tending Tips??

Gunner Staal
10-06-2009, 04:16 PM
I shot a mule deer on Saturday evening and brought him into the butcher on Monday morning. The butcher gave me crap because there was a small amount of hair and dried blood on the meat. I have always been told...NEVER to add water to meat in the field...be it to clean it, wipe it down...whatever. The butcher then promptly used a garden hose spewing hot water and sprayed the crap out of the deer to blast off the hair and chunky bits. Im a novice hunter but I have never seen or heard of this. Is that normal??? Further, what are some tips or opinions with regards to wiping down meat in the bush??? Thanks guys

BearStump
10-06-2009, 04:34 PM
I'm no pro either, but what I normally do is, first skin it, then wipe it down with just enough water to allow the sticky dried crap to come off, then clean it up for the butcher. ie carve off most of the fat and that last layer of membrane around the meat. I'll leave that last layer of membrane on as long as I can before it dries up to protect the meat till the blood and hide are gone and no longer around.

tomla1
10-06-2009, 04:35 PM
I know a lot of guys who just use vinegar to wipe down the meat, im sure you have heard of that. I cant really give you any tips, jus be carfull i guess is the biggest thing, if you can we like to hang our deer, skin first and then gut. just seems to be cleaner thats how i was shown by my hunting partner who cleans his beef that way on the farm.

tomla1
10-06-2009, 04:37 PM
oh yea if you do use water make sure you dry it the best you can it congiles(cant spell that word) with the blood and can make a mess if it sits.

Ltbullken
10-06-2009, 05:13 PM