PDA

View Full Version : Calling Elk or Moose in Fort St. James area?

papaken
09-08-2009, 09:55 AM
Looking at a trip to FSJ area in the first 2 weeks of October. Wondering if it is a good time for calling? Is it too late for Elk? Too early for Moose? I want to try calling one in to within 40yds as it would be my first bow kill. I have practiced out to 60 yds but most confident at 40 or less. Will also be taking my guns but want to try bowhunting first.
thx

quackquackbang
09-08-2009, 10:00 AM
you should have no problem calling in a moose then! as for elk i have no idea!:cool:

35 Whelen
09-08-2009, 10:00 AM
First two weeks of October should put you right in the middle of the moose rut. Typically 3 week of Sept is when it all starts.

As for elk,.....I can't say as I have had no experience in that area for them.

todbartell
09-08-2009, 10:26 AM
elk season closes Oct 9, and they should be fairly receptive to calling until then. Moose will be in the rut too, should be a good time to be hunting moose and elk in gods country!

Sitkaspruce
09-08-2009, 10:27 AM
For moose, the first week will be good, by Oct 10th they are starting to clam up...a lot. Not to say they will not answer, but they will come in more quite and will not be as aggresive. It usually become more of a spot and stock type of hunting.

Elk will be pretty well done by then. I have have not had any luck calling after the end of Sept in that area. They just seem to go into the thick stuff.

Good luck

Cheers

SS

elkdom
09-08-2009, 10:49 AM
Looking at a trip to FSJ area in the first 2 weeks of October. Wondering if it is a good time for calling? Is it too late for Elk? Too early for Moose? I want to try calling one in to within 40yds as it would be my first bow kill. I have practiced out to 60 yds but most confident at 40 or less. Will also be taking my guns but want to try bowhunting first.
thx