PDA

View Full Version : cold weather equipment

Mr. Friendly
09-04-2009, 11:44 PM
I have a nice bag that is good to -15C, but my brother swears that during the 2nd week of October at 5500ft, we'll want better, so I'm looking for suggestions. has to be big enough for a big guy.

I'm a noob to cold weather camping, looking forward to it too, so any suggestions or tactics or staying war are appreciated. what do you use to insulate yourself from the ground? special pads? cot's? other?

what about catalytic heaters? can they be used inside a nylon tent safely? I plan on getting a wall tent next year, just can't afford one this year... :(

CSG
09-04-2009, 11:50 PM
You can buy a liner for your bag that will add a claimed extra 5 to 10 degrees to the rating. The ratings are a little optomistic but it might be enough to cover your needs and it sure beats buying a new bag that you only use one season out of the year...

Crazy.kayaker
09-05-2009, 12:05 AM
This is the brother here. I was camping this year at 5500 and 6000 feet earlier this year around mid august and the bags Dad and I used good to -10 were not enough and we had socks Flannel PJ's and 2 heavy blankets on and we were still cold 2 of the 5 nights we were camping. Granted it was raining but still it was august not October when the snow can start flying at the higher elevations. So I'm thinking something warming would be better and mentioned it to my brother. We have a 11 day hunt in early/mid October that we are starting to prepare for.

Any advice on what we should bring along would be much appreciated since I've never camped later then October but never higher then 4000-4500 feet.

Cheers
CK.

Deadshot
09-05-2009, 03:23 AM
what do you use to insulate yourself from the ground? special pads? cot's? other?

If your not using a pad for sleeping on, it doesn't matter how good your bag is.
I've got a late season mummy, good to -21 & it's covered all that's been thrown at me. So far.

hoho
09-05-2009, 07:41 AM