PDA

View Full Version : found owl

buckslayer
12-17-2005, 03:00 PM
i found a dead owl on the side of the hwy today it seems to be in really good shape (other than being dead) i contacted the 1800 # for the co and reported that i have it. Just wondering what the odds are of them letting me keep it to get it mounted? not shure of the type its id say 18-24 inches tall and has tufts above the eyes I suspect its a great horned owl but im no expert.

Sniper
12-17-2005, 03:04 PM
The HWY maintenance guys could tell you what the procedure is I remember seeing a memo concerning picking up birds of prey.

steel_ram
12-17-2005, 03:05 PM
I think they have to see if any of the indginginest peoples want it for ceremonial purposes first before they allow you keep it.

3kills
12-17-2005, 04:54 PM
sounds like a horned owl to me....there was a thread one of the sites that was talkin about some guy going through a bunch of stuff to try to get a permit for one but he was havnin problems with it so good luck....

tangozulu
12-17-2005, 05:30 PM
I found an owl on the road a few years ago and picked it up. It was on the highway between Ft nelson and Atlin BC. Mostly I picked it up so the other owls around wouldnt get run over too, as they tried to feed on the first one.
Turns out I had to pay for a 50 dollar permit to keep it. Three years later it still takes up freezer space as I don't have 500 bucks for a mount. I cant throw it out cause it cost me 50 bucks. I drove 500 km through the yukon on that trip too. If I'd found the bird in Yukon, the permit would have been free.
Anyone want to supply a good home for a great grey owl?

Steeleco
12-17-2005, 07:07 PM