PDA

View Full Version : vedder river

buckhunter81
08-22-2009, 07:26 PM
hi there i was wondering if anybody could fill me in on when the coho and chinook fishing starts in the vedder, and what the limits are. I'm new to the mainland and this will be my first fall fishing season here. I also heard that the vedder is a complete gong show in the fall and fistfights are not uncommon, is this true? I got some erroneous information that there were already some chinook in there so i went for a fish today but it only amounted to a walk in the park. Appreciate anything anyone can tell me.

Cheers

Dirty
08-22-2009, 07:31 PM
I live beside the Vedder, and I can give you proper information. There are no fresh Chinook in the river right now. If you want to see some go up to the hatchery because they are spawning! You got bum information. There can be the odd early Coho, but not enough to make weekend fishing worthwhile. The fishing right now is like Steelheading, the odd fish might get caught, but that is by the anglers that are fishing every morning and night and weekend.

Fishing doesn't get good until the last few weeks of September. Generally, a safe bet would be the last week of September and first week of October.

There will also be pinks showing up in the first couple of weeks of September, but they aren't very good food fare once they have made it to the Vedder.

There are millions of Pinks this year, which can be found on the Fraser. I would try spin casting spoons and spinner in the Surrey area and Langley area if you want to go fishign right now. They probably won't be around for another week. Then they will be hot and heavy.

buckhunter81
08-22-2009, 07:35 PM
chinooks are spawning already? is there another run? what about retention?

gary murray
08-22-2009, 08:28 PM