PDA

View Full Version : Senior antlerless elk in Kootenays

johnedixon
08-05-2009, 09:58 AM
I'm a newbie, senior citizen, heading to the Kootenays for my first
antlerless elk hunt. I will try to participate in the farmer-hunter
program set out in the regs. I'm a lifelong rifle shooter and deer hunter, and have that part of the equation in hand. But I would deeply appreciate any advice, tips on best areas, best time,
and best way to handle that much meat in warm weather.

humanhound
08-05-2009, 01:35 PM
i have never hunted elk before, as i am moving to B.C myself in a couple weeks so cant help with the hunting part,
but the care of the meat in warm weather it would be the same as moose
- remove the hide as fast as possible(quater or debone animal depending how far in the busd you are)
-remove any "bloodshot" from quater and place it in salt water(it is still eatable after a good soaking)
-wrap the quaters or meat in "cheese cloth"
-If there are lots of flys and the weather is warm cover meat in pepper

humanhound
08-05-2009, 01:37 PM
salt can also be used instead of pepper

bighornbob
08-05-2009, 03:40 PM
As the hunting is all done in the lowland, there will probably be no packing involved. My guess is back the truck or quad right to it and load it whole. Take to camp or where ever and skin the thing whole. Take to a butcher in fernie or Cranbrook to hang for a few days.

Easiests way.

BHB

d6dan
08-05-2009, 03:44 PM
johnedixon. wheres your draw?.http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif

bozzdrywall
08-05-2009, 05:27 PM
d6dan he would not have to draw he is a senior but the best place for a cow would be right along the hy way between fernie and cranbrook find a spot and take a few back roads you will see lots of elk.

d6dan
08-05-2009, 05:36 PM
d6dan he would not have to draw he is a senior but the best place for a cow would be right along the hy way between fernie and cranbrook find a spot and take a few back roads you will see lots of elk.