PDA

View Full Version : Are you open to new hunting partners?

longhairmtnman
07-27-2009, 06:46 PM
I've been wondering why some members are so unapproachable about hunting. I'm no hunting expert, but promote the experience to my best ability, and I have been a catalyst for at least 6 new hunters in the past 20 months. How come so few are embracing the new hunters as they step into our midst? Aquiring knowledge takes many years and lots of questions, ultimately making the hunting community stronger. Why not help out others?

Paulyman
07-27-2009, 06:52 PM
I think guys like you are the majority, it's just a few that give new hunters a hard time for not doing their homework before putting in for leh's that make it seem worse than it actually is.

Mr. Friendly
07-27-2009, 06:58 PM
as a new hunter...as a guy who hasn't had 1 season under his belt yet, I know how much I would appreciate an experienced person to apprentice me. that said, I've noticed all to well the distain for those who post asking for help on the forums, which saddens me. :(

rocksteady
07-27-2009, 07:02 PM
I am open to new hunters (Heck, I even went out with Poguebilt:eek::eek:) J/K Jason...

I have found a lot of guys don't hunt the way I do...I am willing to walk for a huge distance covering ground, whereas some guys just want to sit at one spot all day....

Thats fine by me, but it just isn't my style....

It all boils down to compatibility......

Maybe we should make a site like "EHarmony" where you do a quiz of 20 deep thinking questions to decide who you should go hunting with......:biggrin::biggrin:

srupp
07-27-2009, 07:03 PM
There ARE some very knowlegable folks here..that REALLY know their stuff...and most here ARE willing to help out others..but one must also help ones own self out...

I have a regular hunting partner but have also taken out a "rookie" each and every year..this year its going to be 2 rookies..one this spring for grizz and one this fall...we all had to start somewhere..