PDA

View Full Version : new to hunting, trying to get an elk in region 8.

cellfishracing
05-15-2009, 09:46 AM
I am new to hunting this year and am wondering what i should do to get prepard for an elk hunt in region 8, greystokes,rky mountin park area.

what time of year should i go scout for a good area, what should i look for?

any advise for a new hunter, hunting elk in this area?

open-sights
05-15-2009, 11:02 AM
Wow, setting the bar pretty high. First off if you are new to hunting, don't have any expectations to harvest, buy the best gear you can afford and learn as much as you can from others but water down what anyone says and form your own opinions. Elk hunting is highly technical and a riot. You can start scouting right now and continue up until the season opens. You asked what to look for, well - just glass and glass and glass, if there is sign of fresh animals in the area, they will be around, wind is the most important thing in my experiences with elk hunting. Once they get a wiff of you, it is almost always game over. Keep a mulie and w/t tag at all times as the seasons overlap. Best of luck.

Ruger4
05-15-2009, 11:15 AM
bring your snowmobile if your going to greystokes :eek:

steepNdeep
05-15-2009, 11:52 AM
Elk are a blast! When you hear that 700 lb bull that you've been chasing all season scream at you from 40 yards... your adrenaline is pumping and not much else compares! :cool:

Don't know that area... but I'll pm you a few hints.

bowhunterbruce
05-15-2009, 01:27 PM
I am new to hunting this year and am wondering what i should do to get prepard for an elk hunt in region 8, greystokes,rky mountin park area.

get a good pair of boots,decent binos,and a complete set of horseshoes to gently slide up your arse,your gonna need them in the park going after elk

bighornbob
05-15-2009, 02:53 PM