PDA

View Full Version : Worth taking a look??

351BII
04-02-2009, 09:12 PM
Got the day off tomorrow and was thinking of taking the quads and going for a ride and scope out some areas. I saw a few bear tracks when were were way up sylvester rd last weekend. ANyone think it would be worth it to go have a good look up there or up the hemlock valley area? Im new to bears so bare with me:sad:

mike_b
04-02-2009, 09:18 PM
Got the day off tomorrow and was thinking of taking the quads and going for a ride and scope out some areas. I saw a few bear tracks when were were way up sylvester rd last weekend. ANyone think it would be worth it to go have a good look up there or up the hemlock valley area? Im new to bears so bare with me:sad:

Just how far did you go up Sylvester? I was up there the other weekend just for some target practice, but didn't go past 5kms......still a $hitload of snow then. As far as taking a look around Sylvester, I personally wouldn't. Went bear hunting around Hemlock many many years ago with my dad, but it was more like a stupid hike....didn't see a soul......good luck

351BII
04-02-2009, 09:25 PM
We were a ways up there. We were about 2 feet above the guard rail on the bridge on top of snow. But it was a couple clicks before that where I saw prints and poo. Were camping just before 20 mile last august near the end of the month and seen probably 6 bears hanging around a couple clear cuts and a couple waddling up the side of the road...Anywhere around you recomend going for a day of scoping out?

mike_b
04-02-2009, 09:29 PM
We were a ways up there. We were about 2 feet above the guard rail on the bridge on top of snow. But it was a cew clicks before that where I saw prints. Were camping just before 20 mile last august near the end of the month and seen probably 6 bears hanging around a couple clear cuts and a couple waddling up the side of the road...Anywhere around you recomend going for a day of scoping out?