PDA

View Full Version : hiking back pack tent???

leadpillproductions
03-26-2009, 10:46 AM
what tent s are out there that will stand up to sheep and elk trip in sept im a big guy it has to be for 2 people and under 5 lbs

Goliath
03-26-2009, 11:50 AM
5 lbs for a bare tent is pretty standard fare...there's probably a couple dozen fine products out there from Kelty, MSR, Sierra Designs, N Face, MEC bla bla bla.

For a two person tent I prefer one with double vestibules like the MSR Hubba Hubba as it gives each person a separate covered area for gear. Furthermore, the separate doors make it easy to get up for a leak in the middle of the night without crawling overtop your buddy in your dirty underwear.

shantz
03-26-2009, 12:33 PM
I have a Mountain Hardware Hammerhead 2 that i have been using for that past 2 years that is awesome. Very durable, around 7 lbs, two vestibules and some very slick features. I camp all four seasons of the year for hunting, hiking and skiing and never had a problem. The only problem with the Hubba Hubba is that most of the inter roof is all mesh, making it very light but it also makes it very cold if you plan on winter/fall camping.

Good luck with the tent hunt.

BiG Boar
Hubba hubba hands down. However some tents are so good they even work inside out. You just have to stay up all night in the hundred mile per hour winds holding onto them. he he, you know who you are!

Ciskman
Ive owned a few tents. One thing I would look for is sleeves for attaching the poles. It cuts your time setting up into seconds!

eric
03-26-2009, 02:59 PM
Also check out Hillberg tents, expensive but you'll only ever have to buy 1

spreerider
03-26-2009, 03:10 PM
Mountain equipment coop has some good tents, i got a 2man from them years ago, i cant remember the modle name right now but its excellent i have had it for 14 years at least and its still working great for me.

mudbud
03-26-2009, 06:17 PM