PDA

View Full Version : The hunt for rifles. what's good for a newbie?

newbiegunnerjake
03-23-2009, 11:09 PM
I've decided to get a 30-06 for deer hunting around Hope and also want to get a .22 for fun hunting. well... all hunting should be fun right?? I was hoping for some insight on what are some good rifles and good dealers as I'd like to buy new. I saw a remington 59s .22lr for less than $200 from Reliable in Vancouver. Is that a good rifle for the price?

Steeleco
03-23-2009, 11:58 PM
If you know 30.06 is for you, the next consideration is how the rifle "fits" you.
There's lots of other issues like mag style, barrel length and such. They all have their place, but it the rifle doesn't fit you, you won't shoot to your potential. Shoulder a few and see which ones feel best. You'll know it when you find it.

sugar
03-24-2009, 05:28 PM
Hey- I am also new to hunting, and last fall bought a Remington 700 SPS DM
(Special Purpose Synthetic Detachable Mag) in 30-06. I did countless hours of research online and with some local 'pros' that I know. I also came to the decision that the 30-06 was the best to go with as a first and best all around caliber for the new hunter.

I was originally going to buy a Remington or Savage kit gun, but after lots of reading decided against it. I looked at some while in Calgary and they are just cheaply constructed tools. I found the Remington that I bought was the best bang for my buck. I paid just over $500 from Russels in Calgary, (same rifle now goes for over $700 on Wholesale Sports website). So far I am happy with it, and am sure after a few seasons I will want to specialize my caliber a bit more, but for now I am happy with my purchase.

steelheadSABO
03-25-2009, 03:54 PM
you cant go wrong with a remington 700 or a winchester mod 70

quackquackbang
03-25-2009, 04:53 PM
I have a Savage 16fcss and its a pretty sweet little rifle take a look at them also!!!:cool:

Mr. Friendly
03-25-2009, 06:20 PM