PDA

View Full Version : Stewart BC/Hyder AK Hunting

shanevg
03-19-2009, 12:59 PM
Hey I was curious if anyone has any information on the Stewart/Hyder area for hunting. I'm a WA resident so I can't hunt in BC but I can hunt moose and deer and elk in the Hyder area. I know Stewart and Hyder are pretty much the same town, so I was wondering if anyone knows anything about moose on the Alaska side of the border. Are there any to be found? Are there a lot of hunters? Anyone know any good locations? Is there any alpine deer hunting? Are there any elk to be found?

I'm also curious about the mountain goat hunting by Stewart in February. Again, I can't hunt it, I am just curious for curiosity sake. Is that a good hunt or is it only open to get the goats out of there? Can anyone even find the goats? Do people hunt on skis or what?

Thanks for any info, I really appreciate it.

gerrygoat
03-19-2009, 01:32 PM
There definitely are no caribou around in the Stewart/Hyder area and only a few moose. That area does have good goat hunting and lots of bears both Blacks and Grizz, I have no idea on what the hunting seasons are like in that part of Alaska though. If there is a season for goats there it would be a great spot for a Washington state guy to do a hunt with the proper research of course (don't you need a guide for some species in AK?) The area around Stewart gets huge snow so the winter hunt would be pretty tough I would check it out in October/November when the snows start driving the goats down.

shanevg
03-19-2009, 01:35 PM