PDA

View Full Version : shotgun advice?

Black Bird
02-25-2009, 10:40 PM
Hi folks,

I am still new to hunting - I got out last year for my first hunt ever (http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=28127&highlight=Black+Bird)...

...and now I am hooked. I daydream about that trip very often. One thing in particular that struck me was how many grouse I came across. This got me to thinking...

I have a great old Mossberg 151K .22 that I picked up from Reliable (great guys). I also bought a Savage 7mm Mag package from them as well (good gun with a bit of a finicky scope). What I don't have is a shotgun. I know that many people hunt grouse with a .22 On that same trip I took one shot at a grouse and missed (I was aiming for the head). It is not that I am against hunting grouse with a .22 - I think it is a very good idea. It is just that I would like to buy a shotgun that would be good for grouse/ducks and maybe geese as well.

I have done a bit of research on-line (on this site, chuck hawks site, and others). It seems to me that either a 20 gauge or a 12 gauge is the way to go (both can and will take down grouse/ducks and geese). In my research they also talk about fit and the feel of the shotgun. I have never fired a shotgun so I can only imagine what they are talking about.

So, my plan is to shell out about $300 for a used shotgun (either a 20 gauge or a 12 gauge) that is reliable. I had good luck with my Mossberg .22 and I now have a far better idea what kind of second .22 I might want in the future (the .22 only cost me $115 second hand at Reliable). For example, while I really like the semi-auto fun factor of my .22, the lack of an effecive, or even partially effective, saftey is a bit of a turnoff.