PDA

View Full Version : Elk or Moose?

sapper
02-25-2009, 09:39 PM
I'm new to hunting. I got my first w/t doe on a new hunter's LEH in the fall of 08. Lots of fun. I'm planning a turkey hunt this spring (should be interesting) but really want more meat than one tom. :-)
Given my occupation it is nigh impossible for me to get a longer than a weekend hunt in the fall but I notice there are elk and moose hunts in August, which I have off.
Anyone care to weigh in with their opinions on which is tastier, elk or moose and techniques for either, which might be easier to tackle given my rookie status?
Thanks.

sfire436
02-25-2009, 09:53 PM
Not knowing where you live, if you only have a few days to head off and want to get meat, I think the early season moose hunters have good odds up north. You could head up there and drop a velvet bull, dress it and head home in a few days

sapper
02-25-2009, 09:58 PM
Thanks, sfire. I have all summer off. I'm in the lower mainland. Velvet bull is a "young 'un"? How difficult are moose to hunt?

ape
02-25-2009, 10:07 PM
A velvet bull is any bull that still has velvet on it antlers. In the growth stages the antlers are covered in velvet and it is this velvet the supplies the blood to the antlers for growth. Neither are hard to hunt once you know what you are doing. It will take some study time as well as time in the field in order to get good enough to think you know what you are doing just to have the animals show you you know very little. You will be learning till you die.

tuffteddyb
02-25-2009, 10:30 PM
totally agree with ape will learn till yah die
as to which tastes better? really tough to choose.
ate em both,like em both.
as to hunting them?
i just learning too,hope to get one or the other this fall.
helped hunt and pack lotssss of moose.
elk are totally new but going with a partner this year that has been hunting them for a long time. so should turn out to be interesting.