PDA

View Full Version : Why Hunt?

bridger
02-11-2009, 11:24 AM
I thought this article written by my wife for a local publication might be if interest. It gives a womens perspective on hunting.

WHY HUNT?

Many of my friends and acquaintances are amazed that I have actually hunted and taken an animal. They wonder why I would go hunting and why I would want to kill an animal.
I am relatively new at hunting, but I have gone along on a good number of hunting trips and pack trips over the past 30 years. It wasn’t until the last 8 or 9 years that I have actually gone along with the intent of taking an animal. Prior to that time I had confidence that I could provide a moose for our freezer if there was ever a need but until that time I would let the men in the family do the hunting.

I’ve enjoyed the pack/hunting trips that we’ve taken as a family and with our hunting friends. I’ve loved seeing the wildlife and the scenery—and the wildflowers—and I’ve enjoyed the camaraderie and the adventure of the trips. I have to admit that often parts of our trips have been hard for me, but I’ve always had the support of family and friends who have been there to see me through any rough spots—like getting my horse down in muskeg or falling off my horse. It’s been very satisfying for me to able to meet the challenges that are involved in a 10-day pack trip into the mountains. And, with a husband who has a passion for wildlife, hunting, and the outdoors, there’s also the factor of “if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em”. The two of us have had good times on our trips, and I look forward to more adventures in the mountains.
http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/P3090047.JPG (http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/showphoto.php?photo=12814)