PDA

View Full Version : Wolf medicine advice please!

N-W-Redneck
01-26-2009, 07:42 PM
As there seems to be alot of wolf topics on HBC, I hope there are some here that can help. My FIL has been contracted to do some 'predator control' on private property, and he will be using my .243 win. for the shootin'. I have worked up a load using 70gr. Nosler ballistic tips with 42gr of 4064. A max load of 42.5 shows 3541fps in a 24" bbl. I don't have a chrony, but I am guestemating my 22" tube should be giving me about 3200-3300 fps.

I am pretty sure a good shot will mean DRT, but I am wondering what kind of pelt damage to expect. My FIL is a trapper and will be selling the pelts with the rest of his furs. Anyone out there use this bullet on wolf before and what were your results?

Thanks in advance!

Shermdog
01-26-2009, 08:43 PM
Im no pro But Id geuss that a ballistic tip would do a decent amount of pelt damage, those things expand quickly. Maybe try something that holds together better....interbond or tsx? Im sure the resident ballistics pros will give you the best advice, but if it was me I wouldnt use a BT on wolf if you want the pelt.

todbartell
01-26-2009, 08:46 PM
70 gr nolser bt is a bit nasty on coyote in my experiences but on a wolf I think it will work a bit better. on a frontal shot it did not exit a coyote

bridger
01-26-2009, 09:22 PM
I would use a nosler partition or barnes x and back off on the velocity a little bit. that seems to work out ok

Dannybuoy
01-26-2009, 10:34 PM
Sounds good to me ... I shot alot of yotes years ago with practically the same load (imr4895) just dont hit the front shoulder ...

kyleklassen
01-26-2009, 11:05 PM
if its "preadator control "and not hunting can you use fmj? depends on who "contracted" you, i'm sure if it was the government it would be o.k. but joe citizen. not so o.k.

todbartell
01-26-2009, 11:10 PM
I dont think you'll find the effect of FMJ bullet on impact to be very good. The 70 gr NBT will work well I suspect