PDA

View Full Version : HELP! First great hunt?

codykarey
01-09-2009, 09:50 PM
Hey Guys!

I'm an 18 year-old novice hunter and I've developed THE BUG! I recently moved down to Vancouver in pursuit of my career, and I've been locked up in the city for too long already:sad:. I'm looking for some advice...

I decend from a long line of hunters, and have developed a passion for it over years of hunting as an observer and last year finally as the hunter. I'm looking for advice on planning a a good trip for myself, my dad and my uncle. I've read through reams of threads and forums about where to hunt and guided hunts and just about everything.

I used to live up in Fort st. James near Vanderhoof and PG, and have long dreamed of the day when I could venture out with my two hunting partners into the great wilderness on a wild adventure. I've been on Moose, Deer and Elk hunts, however I've never successfully taken a Moose or Elk of my own...

How would you great hunters suggest I begin my planning? As I said, I've looked at tons of areas from the northern rockies to the kootneys to the coast, and just cant find a place to start.

I love the back country and need to go back! thanx for your help!

Cheers and good hunting!

BCRiverBoater
01-09-2009, 09:53 PM
This is a great spot to start. Ask around and pick a general area. Start getting maps and start doing research. Big thing is ask a million questions and listen to what you are told.

K-1
01-09-2009, 11:23 PM
You say you come from a long line of hunters. If you are going with your dad & uncle, your best bet would be talk & make plans with them.

cainer
01-10-2009, 12:08 AM
I'm no great hunter but here's my 2 cents. Decide how far you're willing to travel-then pick an area-it's always best if you know the area but, if you don't have that luxury-guess! Pull up google earth, find a coupla' cut blocks/swamp/alpine where you know the animals you're looking for are huntable-and off you go.