PDA

View Full Version : Does sex make a diffrence?

Remington
01-07-2009, 06:41 PM
Ive heard people who claim that a Female dog makes a better hunter anyone know if their is any truth to this? I Hunt with 2 labs both are Male and they are both excellent hunting dogs. Ive been looking at getting a new puppy not a lab, but I was thinking of trying out a female instead as my Grandfather swears they make a better hunting dog.

kinderdoggin
01-07-2009, 07:08 PM
I didn't vote because there isn't a 'no difference' option.... with retrievers, which is where my experience lies, I have not found a significant difference between males and females. Pick the gender that is easiest for you to live with, or better yet, pick the puppy who shows the most promise as a youngster regardless of sex.

JMO,
Erin

Slime green cat
01-07-2009, 07:13 PM
I didn't vote either because I have never had a female dog, so I have no first hand experience .
I have heard many times though that a female is easier to train etc ...
Having said that ... I have known alot of great male hunting dogs , my GSP included :smile:

Lone Ranger
01-07-2009, 08:07 PM
I didn't vote as I don't have a preference. IMHO, if you spay/neuter a dog, there's not really a big difference between the two sexes in attitude afterwards. I have found that females tend to calm down and pay a little more attention to training, but you get good and bad in any sex and breed. LR

Dirty
01-07-2009, 08:14 PM
Males are physically stronger in some cases.

GoatGuy
01-07-2009, 08:27 PM
We've had both, there doesn't seem to be too much of a difference.

If they aren't fixed they can both be a nightmare.

Males are generally going to be bigger.

Females don't pi** on everything and they won't hump your leg (at least they shouldn't).

oldtimer
01-07-2009, 08:28 PM