PDA

View Full Version : Calling Deer

Gus
10-14-2005, 11:20 AM
Just wondering if anybody could give me any tips on calling deer (mulies and whitetails). I haven't had any success with calling mule deer and minimul success calling whitetails. Wondering what types of calls to use at what times of year and things like that. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

MB_Boy
10-14-2005, 11:44 AM
Gus......I have some experience in calling....I use a grunt tube occasionally and have had bucks (Whiteys) come in to investigate. I quite often rattle for them as well and have had very good success.....rattle the antlers....then kind of grind them together like the bucks hit a bit of a standstill.....and then back to a bit of rattling......I usually scrape up the ground a bit too......usually not too long but through about a minute or so? I have had them come in very quiet, but also have had them come stomping in at it has sounded like a big bull moose was coming to check things out. I always throw some grunts in and around my rattling.........believe me.....everyone has their own ideas that work and I don't claim to be a pro......just have had some success.
Have not tried any of the bleat type calls etc. so I can't help you there.

Good luck!

ruger#1
10-14-2005, 02:48 PM
gus i use a quaker boy doe in heat bleat along with deer antlers for rattleing, had lots of sucsess, the bleat is also good for when your below a ridge all you do is let a bleat go and it will get the deer to stand up if he is bedded down, the bleat i use is like a very small can all you do is turn it upside down and it works.rattle the antlers a few times then a few bleats, then hit the antlers on the ground, to make a sound like deer hoves hitting the ground. then wait for about 10 mins. do it again. keeps looking around as they will come behind you to. do it for about 30 mins then slowly move to a different spot, it works for me on mulies havet had a chance on whitetails yet.

BlacktailStalker