PDA

View Full Version : Goat hunt Terrace January or Ferbruary, info needed.

BiG Boar
12-23-2008, 09:19 AM
Hi everyone,
I have a Skeena 6-15 A goat draw and tag. Because of work I havnt been able to get away, so I am thinking of trying jan or feb for my goat draw. Its basically exactly north of terrace.
Now, I have no experience with hunting goats and more so, I have no experience hunting goats in the winter. Is there anyone on this site who knows the area at all and can tell me what I am in for and what to expect?
I know, I should have gone and scouted and prepared even before the LEH was put in, but I figured it was best to just go for it and learn if I got the tag. The goat is a majestic creature and I really want to give this hunt a good chance.
Thanks a lot and Merry Christmas, Goatless Dave

sawmill
12-23-2008, 09:33 AM
Excpect a hell of a lot of snow,dangerous icy cliffs,lots of fog and more than likely a broken leg or two.I lived up there for most of my life,would not even consider goat in the dead of winter.But thats just my 2 cents.

Bighorn hunter
12-23-2008, 09:38 AM
Why would you even put in for an area you don't know?I'm just kidding, I just thought I would beet some other clown to the punch.Unfortunately I can't help, but I do share your feeling s about goats.I'm sure there will be a flood of help from the others on this site. Good luck, although i don't envy you trying to spot something white on a snow coverd slope.

Stone Sheep Steve
12-23-2008, 10:20 AM
Snowshoes, crampons, good rope.....and other good winter gear.

Haven't done it yet but hope to some day soon"ish".

SSS

deer nut
12-23-2008, 10:31 AM
Excpect a hell of a lot of snow,dangerous icy cliffs,lots of fog and more than likely a broken leg or two.I lived up there for most of my life,would not even consider goat in the dead of winter.But thats just my 2 cents.