PDA

View Full Version : buying a used gun

spey
12-06-2008, 09:26 PM
I'm new to hunting and plan on buying a used gun once my PAL comes back. I was wondering what i should be aware of before buying a used shot gun or rifle.

Steeleco
12-06-2008, 09:34 PM
Answers for your question are many,
What do you plan to hunt?
How much are you planning on spending?
What caliber do you think you need?
And on!

As your hew to hunting one thing I will advise, it to get a caliber that you can not only handle comfortably, but one that has a large variety of off the shelf ammo available. Reloading may come later, by then you may have all the brass you need!!

BTW Welcome to the site.

scallywag
12-06-2008, 09:39 PM
i kinda sucks buying a used rifle cause you can never tell if it shoots well or not untill you get it to the range. finding something slightly used is always a good idea. just what i think . oh yeah and buy as many guns as you can afford.

Shermdog
12-06-2008, 09:46 PM
Hi and welcome to the site. I have bought 3 used rifles. Just find a calibre that suits your needs and like steeleco said, one that is readily available at most places. I would consider a 270 win or 30-06. Both are very common, lots of used rifles around chambered in them, and ammo is easy to find and relatively cheap. 270 is nice, mild recoil, you can hunt pretty much anything in canada. Make sure you dont cheap out on optics as well. I would look for a used remington or browning rifle and put a fairly decent scope on it, bushnell elite 3200 ~$200, elite 4200 3-9x40 ~$300(very good glass), vortex vipers ~$370 or vortex diamondback ~$200 or a leupold vx-I or vx-II. I would only buy a leupold if you can find a nice used one, they are great optics, but brand new they are over priced. hope this helps a bit

spey
12-06-2008, 10:37 PM
Thanks, I appriciate the advice. I plan purchasing a shotgun for birds and then a rifle for deer. Is there any way to tell if a gun will jam easily or not?