PDA

View Full Version : A First for Me

Phoneguy
11-27-2008, 09:35 PM
This is the first year for me to try drift fishing in rivers. Other than a bit of flyfishing I have very little experience with river fishing at all. Today a friend and I went our targeting salmon. We started at Noorish. While we could see schools of dark coho we could not entice them. After a few hours we went to the Chehalis. We started below the hatchery. Talk about depressing. A couple of people snagging fish, not even a pretence of trying to fish. The fish were all tired and spawned out and these jokers were poking and proding and snagging. I had to leave.

We went to the pool above the bailey bridge. That was more like it. I hooked and released one fair fish, there was lots of fish swimming around where we were wading. All of a sudden, while I was daydreaming something slammed my line. I though it was a rainbow trout as I was bringing it in. Turned out to be a nice ~ 7lb steelhead.

Might be a while for pictures as I still haven't gotten the ones of our first trip 7 weeks ago.

Now I go duck hunting tomorrow!

James

BearSniper
11-27-2008, 09:39 PM
Phoneguy

Did you mean Norrish creek ?

Sounds like fun anyways

Phoneguy
11-27-2008, 09:47 PM
Phoneguy

Did you mean Norrish creek ?

Sounds like fun anyways

Yes, also known as suicide creek?

BearSniper
11-27-2008, 09:52 PM
Ya

You know what I think you're right

I have heard that term before for Norrish.

But still sounds like you got a good steelhead

Phoneguy
01-24-2009, 07:28 PM
Finally got a pic sent to me, the date is wrong:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a105/Phoneguy_Canuck/Fishing/Steelhead1.jpg

Ddog
01-24-2009, 08:21 PM
so i take it it was a hatchery fish, is that your first steelhead?
and by the way its a little late to go and fish the rivers for salmon. you want to be there in sept to late oct for the best salmon, november has good days too, but getting into late nov most of the salmon would have turned.

PGK