PDA

View Full Version : My first hunting trip...

Black Bird
11-15-2008, 09:12 AM
Hi folks,

I am brand new to hunting so I apologize ahead of time if all my (almost) mistakes and questions seem obvious.

A couple of weeks ago I went up to 3-29 to hunt for mule deer with some family friends. I have never been hunting before but it has been something I have been thinking about for quite some time. For me, I want to follow a meal from a living being to what ends up on my plate and the plates of my family and friend. I realized some time ago, that even though I like to cook and I make my meals from 'scratch', I have no real idea of meat (hunting, shooting, gutting, cleaning, butchering, etc).

The group I went up with all have hunting experience. The youngest of the group (my age - 36) had been on about a dozen previous hunting trips (deer, elk, grouse) and had shot two deer during those trips. The most experienced was about twice my age and had hunted on and off since he was a teenager.

However, nobody had been hunting in a couple of years or so and it took us a little backtracking to find our spot the first day.

We got out of the truck and tested the wind. It was coming down the hills out of the north. I was given some instruction on how to move quietly and what to look out for. We fanned out about 200m apart and started working our way north.

I couldn't believe how intense the experience was. I was using all my senses and moving very slowly. Just a few steps at a time, wait, listen, and a few more steps. After about 45min of hunting I was working my way up an abandoned logging road (I can't believe what great shape the 'abandoned' roads are in - where I come from {the coast} you leave a road alone for a year and it is gone!) when I spotted a grey shape glide across the old road about 70m in front of me. A second shape moved out onto the road, stopped, lowered its head and began to eat.