PDA

View Full Version : What shot shells you using for ducks?

NoLimit99
11-10-2008, 07:44 PM
This is my first year trying to harvest some ducks and so far I havn't had any luck. Not sure if its the ammo im using or if im just not use to shooting a flying object yet such as a duck. My question is what brand and # of shot shell ya using for ducks and is there any good hints, tips or tricks you can give me as I do very well at the range shooting flying clays. HELP IS BADLY NEEDING as im getting frustrated with missing them as they are coming down for a touch down. :cry:

Crazy_Farmer
11-10-2008, 08:10 PM
Seems like winchester Xperts seem to be the most common shells guys are using. But theres tons of different brands Federal, kent, remington, bismuth will all get the job done.

Anything 2 3/4" or 3" sized anywhere from #2s to #4s going around 1300fps average goes 1500+fps will work just fine.

I've been using winchester xperts 3" 1550fps #2s 1 1/8th ounce for two season, before that same brand but in #3s and #4s for a couple years before that.

Its just like Ford, Chevy, Dodge trucks. Everyones going to have an opinion of which brand is best or which they use.

As for having difficulting hitting the birds, I started at a young age, always got to shoot the first bird of the morning on the water. Made sure I'd atleast hit something for the day but I've out grown that. Clays are great for practice, though I've maybe shot 200 clays in my lifetime and I've never seen a clay dip and cup and swing and land like a duck will but I do see where they they help in the swinging left or right or outwards on a duck flying by or away.

Keep your head down, focus on only one bird, keep only shooting at that one till it falls, closer birds will always be easier shots so so get em in nice and close to start.

Dano
11-10-2008, 08:22 PM