PDA

View Full Version : New to all this

Harley
10-30-2008, 05:29 PM
Hello Everyone, My name is Harley. I live in Richmond BC.

I am new to hunting/guns.. I'm wondering if you guys can help answer some questions?

I wish to use an air rifle to hunt varmints..
My air rifle is a crosman Phantom, 495FPS
I wish to only hunt varmints.. My questions are:

1 Do I need a hunting license?
2 Do I need any kind of tags?
3 Where can I find a Varmint list for the GVRD or all of BC?
4 Is there anything I should know that it seams I have no knowledge of?

Thanks Everyone (in advance)

Also I want to take a firearms safety course soon, so I can get a my PAL.
Any advice on how the best way to go about doing that?
Someone told me about C.O.R.E.. Is this the way to go? Please help as you all know so much, and I know so little..

Thanks again. -Harley

Big Daddy Ryan
10-30-2008, 05:36 PM
I do believe you need a hunting licence to shoot varmints and the CORE course is the only way to get it in BC. You should be able to find an instructor that teaches the PAL (Possesion and Aquisition of firearms) and CORE together then you get both done at the same time.

Pete
10-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Harley......Take the CORE Course it will really be a help to you starting out. All of the questions you asked are valid and would be answered in class.

Harley
10-30-2008, 05:55 PM
Oh, you need both the C.O.R.E and the PAL?
I thought C.O.R.E was optional?

Big Daddy Ryan
10-30-2008, 06:01 PM
You need to take the CORE in order to get your BC Hunter number and then you can get your hunting licence. You need your PAL in order to buy and possess firearms.

Harley
10-30-2008, 06:05 PM
Oh, I see.. So CORE is to get your hunter #..

Even if I'm using an air rifle, I guess I would need the CORE to get my hunter #...

If I'm going to do the CORE then I might as well Do the PAL.

Anyone reccomend a good place to take these courses?

Gun Babe
10-30-2008, 06:12 PM