PDA

View Full Version : East Kootenay Bighorns

10-23-2008, 01:15 PM
Just a question regarding sheep hunting in the East Kootenays. Is it possible to find areas that hold bighorn rams that are not crawling with other hunters? Or are virtually all known ram areas hunted hard? I am really new to sheep hunting and want to know what kind of experience to expect. Thanks.

Jetboater
10-23-2008, 01:37 PM
there are a lot of sheep in the kootenay that never get seen or touched....the easy ones get shot, but there is a few legal rams around each year....gotta get in with the old boys to get good sheep tips... or ya gotta look alot...I honestly think the first few years of hunting sheep in the Kootenays you wont even see a sheep ... let alone a ram...(unless you take the radium tour)

budismyhorse
10-23-2008, 01:49 PM
Is it possible to find areas that hold bighorn rams that are not crawling with other hunters? NO
Or are virtually all known ram areas hunted hard? YES

buuuuuut good luck! finding them is addicting.

10-23-2008, 02:02 PM
Do mature rams hang-around with ewes and lambs in September?

budismyhorse
10-23-2008, 02:10 PM
rarely, but it does happen.

at least you know you are in sheep country.

bighornbob
10-23-2008, 03:45 PM
Most of the rams areas are known by more then one person. OK more like 10-20 diehards.

Areas that are connected to these rams haunts that are marginal habitat might not support a band of rams but it will definately support one or two rams. So as most of the guys head up the mountain to look at the band of rams that can be seen most of the summer, the big boys are probably hundreds of meters lower down the mountain on a chunk of realestate that does not look like sheep habitat. This is where you could spend a lifetime looking for sheep and not see another hunter. In the same regards you may not see a sheep either. Its pretty hit or miss but the rewarde could pay off huge.

BHB

Kody94
10-23-2008, 03:58 PM
Agree with Bob and bud.