PDA

View Full Version : Do any hunters out there use sents or drags?

RayHill
10-21-2008, 11:41 PM
Do sents on a wick or using a drag work or is it not worth it to buy?
How about sent block spray for your clothes?
I'm new to this so any help would be grate thanx
Ray

todbartell
10-21-2008, 11:52 PM
I often use a scent killing spray, especially when on trips when I will begin to smell like campfire, dill pickle chips, and whiskey

huntwriter
10-22-2008, 12:11 AM
Under the right condition scent lure does work. The mistake some hunters make is to use scent as a strategy. Scent works best as part of a sound hunting strategy based on scouting. I have written several articles on the subject. This article (http://whitetaildeerpassion.blogspot.com/2006/08/making-sense-about-deer-scents.html) is a summary about scent use and application with links to more information on that topic on my "Whitetail Deer Passion" website.

Human scent control spray works in combination with a shower before each hunt and a set of fresh clean under and over garments. What scent control does not do, as often assumed, is to eliminate human odor all together. It cannot be done unless you were to remove every single glad surgically from your body. This also would mean certain death.

The next best we can do is to be clean and then stay downwind from the animals. All scent control does is fooling the animal in believing that we’re still miles away when in fact we’re sitting right on top of them.

hunter1947
10-22-2008, 06:10 AM
I use voyeur deer lure as for Scent-A-Way.

I put some deer lure on some cotton and hang it about 30 yard from my tree stand.

mijinkal
10-22-2008, 08:27 AM
I use scent block spray almost every day of hunting. May be a little overboard but I'm usually too lazy to change my clothes while hunting and I know I stink.
I've used deer lure before but haven't seen it work. I'll probably try it again later in the season.

Frango
10-22-2008, 08:40 AM