PDA

View Full Version : Bobcat,lynx or both

willyqbc
09-11-2005, 06:24 PM
OK, originally we thought these were a couple of bobcats, but now after closer inspection I'm not so sure. the one on the left is definately a bobcat as evidenced by the white on the back of the ear. The one on the right, I am starting to think is a lynx due to the black tipped beard. what do you guys think?

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/91catfight1.jpg

Chris

file2000
09-11-2005, 07:21 PM
I think they are all lynxes. Cauz their legs are so long, bobcat doesn't have such long legs. It's my own opinion though..

swamper
09-11-2005, 08:18 PM
In my humble opinion, they are both lynx, bobcats do not have as long a tufts on the ears. And this is a little far north for the bobcat range, although I don't doubt there are the odd ones around. And the feet on both of these are really big. Another good indicator.

zedex
09-11-2005, 08:26 PM
Im no expert but i would say lynx. I thought Bobcats had a prominant bobed tail .

houndogger
09-11-2005, 09:02 PM
Willy I would say lynx. That one on the right sure has bobcat coloring to though? I hunted in Quesnel a couple of winters ago and you fellas have your share of lynx up there. Great pics release the hounds!:biggrin:

BCrams
09-11-2005, 09:04 PM
They are definatly both lynx .... take a look at the tuft on the ears as well.

Fred
09-11-2005, 10:49 PM
Are they both still alive? :mrgreen: Fred

todbartell
09-11-2005, 11:19 PM
both looks like lynx to me...but im a far cry from a cat expert

Gateholio
09-12-2005, 01:01 AM
both looks like lynx to me...but im a far cry from a cat expert

How about cougars?:mrgreen:

The cats int he pic are lynx.

willyqbc
09-12-2005, 07:35 AM
I'm still not convinced the one on the left is a lynx... found this on a site that researches kitty's