PDA

View Full Version : German Wirehair

Russmi
10-17-2008, 04:34 PM
Hi I'm looking for some input on this type of dog. I've done some research but I'm more interested in someone with hands on experience. I have 3 kids aged 4,7,10 and I like duck hunting in the field out front of my house. I have the room for the dog but want to know how they are with smaller kids compared to say a lab. I'd like to try and train it for upland birds also but I'm new to it so we'll have to see. The pups I'm looking at are 450.00 without papers. I don't have the willingness to pay 1000.00 for a dog so I'm looking at this route. Any opions, comments would be appericiated.

PS if you have a different type of dog I'm all ears, but it has to be able to swim and retreive and be good with kids

The 'Hummer'
10-17-2008, 05:54 PM
For bird hunting, the first breed of dogs I had anything to do with was German Shorthairs. Terrific hunters, great on upland birds, great with kids & as a family dog. The ones I had, concerning hunting, trained easily for pointing, had a great nose, soft mouth and although they could swim like a fish, had some difficulty dealing with really cold water. On upland birds, what I did really like about them is they worked closer to you than say an English Pointer and in some of the thick west coast conditions, I found that to be an advantage.The only down side I experienced with them was they could be a little 'boneheaded'.
With duck hunting and keeping the probability of cold water situations in mind, I thought the best of both worlds may be a German Wire Haired Pointer. That didn't turn out to be one of my best choices in life. Admittedly, while I only had one, I found that although they had many of the qualities of a German Short Hair and could handle cold water situations better, they were even MORE boneheaded. Again, I only had one but none the less, that was my experience.