PDA

View Full Version : Newbish questions

TheDark
10-14-2008, 09:46 PM
Hi all,
I've been lurking around the forums for the past few days dreaming about my first buck(I love the stories and pics from other memebers). So i'd figure i'd post up and introduce myself to a new community
I am a 22 year old guy, located on V.I. I am a ok shooter(I shoot for fun as well) I started out hunnting half way though last season with no luck, so I am back at it this season hoping to fill my fridge and tags, I am fairly new to this and have a few questions, so i'll blast away of the top of my head.

I've read no a few post about guys geting busted for "loaded guns" now I value my safty, and whoever else is with me above everything else and always unload before driving away.
However I was wondering, I have a little strechy shell holder that gose on the butt of my rifle, and I always keep my spare shells there as well as the ones out of the magazine, if I put all my shells there is that considered loaded? as it is not part of the firearm magazine I though it would be alright but after reading some post now I am not so sure. last thing I want is fine because I misunderstood the "law"

Also please forgive my newbish questions, I have a scoped .308 for most of the hunting I do I love the gun, and it shoots great never given me a problem at the range or in the field.
However I find some times it's "unwieldly" in thicker stuff when the action gets going(it's slow bolt action, rather heavy and at times I find the scope setting is too high even at x3 power to make a close shoot) So, I was wondering should I also bring along my trusty SKS?
I am good with it out to 50 yards easily off handed and it's open sighed and semi auto a great bush gun.